September News and Updates

I never really took the time to put together a post-GenCon update. The real summary is that GenCon was so big and busy that I barely had time to do anything except demo New Bedford for 3 days straight! Note to self: Don’t agree to to demos first thing in the morning. Friday was a long day that started with a flight, and ended with Designer-Publisher Speed dating. This was a fantastic learning experience for me, and I’m hoping to be able to share some more news about that soon. I had no mental energy for Unpub on Friday evening, but I was able to play a few games Saturday night, including a few of my own with mixed results. All-in-all, I understand now why Origins is the convention to hang out and game with people while GenCon is the convention to work. There were people I didn’t see all weekend. Origins will almost certainly be on my schedule for 2016, but GenCon will more likely be a pass.

Speaking of 2016 conventions, UNPUB 6 tickets went on sale last week. I reserved a table for the full weekend. However, I’ll be splitting the table, at least part of the time, with good friend and fellow designer Dan Cassar (Cavemen: the Quest for Fire, Arboretum). Details and game selection to be determined at a later date.

Last week, I did an interview with the New Bedford Standard-Times, a historic local newspaper in New Bedford, Mass, about the success and design of New Bedford. You can read it on the SouthCoastToday.com.

Finally, I added a game page for Nantucket. During the New Bedford campaign, a second game, Nantucket was added as an add-on. This was a bit of a surprise, to me because it was initially intended to be just a bonus promo item, but the success of New Bedford made it feasible as a standalone game in the DHMG Rabbit line. I haven’t talked much about Nantucket because I always considered it more of a side project, almost a “fan game”, if it were possible to make a fan game of my own game. The entire game fits on four cards, which would be very easy to hand out as a promo, with the player providing the needed coins.

But this was not a hastily-assembled last-minute money grab. Quite the opposite. I originally talked about Nantucket at the end of 2013, inspired by Adam McIver and Tasty Minstrel Games’ Coin Age. There is over a year and a half of development that has gone into making Nantucket a fun, portable, and independent game. Many of the familiar elements from New Bedford remain: worker placement, modular buildings that add actions, bonus buildings that earn points, and, of course, sending your ships whaling. But while many of New Bedford‘s choices revolve around how to use your limited time, Nantucket‘s choices are about how you make your money work, quite literally.

While Nantucket was originally conceived as a lighthearted take, I had a lot of fun making it into a game full of tense decisions that carries the spirit of New Bedford, and I hope you all enjoy it as much as I do.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

